Longboard press molds

I’m somewhat new to sketchup and I’m designing a set of molds for bending veneers, specifically, a longboard. I’ve created the bottom and would love to know if there is an easy way to create its mate for the top. I’m looking for the process since the image below may not be my final shape. If you can’t tell from the photo, it’s a complex curve (think: pringles chips). Many thanks in advance.

Since your profile says you have the Pro version, the simplest way would be to make the bottom a component, verify that it is a solid (and fix as needed so that it is), then create another rectangular box, make it a Group and use the solid tools to subtract the bottom. Since the bottom is a component, you will be able to fetch another instance from the component window (subtract will erase the one you used for the operation).

Thanks @slbaumgartner! I’m not sure why it said I have the pro version. I only have the free version. Am I out of luck as far as an easy version?

Ok, failing the solids tools, try this:

Orbit into a side view of the base. If the base is a Group or Component, open it for edit. Use a left-to-right select to capture all the geometry that makes up the top surface of your base. Invoke Copy on the selection. Close the Group or Component, hide it, and then invoke “Edit->Paste in Place”. This should give you a copy of the top surface of your mold. Build the other half on top of this pasted surface by drawing lines up to the corners of a rectangular top face and then joining them with edges. Then make a Group or Component of the top mold.

You sir, are genius! That worked perfectly! Thank you @slbaumgartner! That process is going to carry over to so many projects!

Shouldn’t the profiles of the top and bottom bending forms differ by the thickness of the materials meant to be clamped/formed between them?

1 Like

Good question! Any ideas about how to accomplish it? Sounds like something Fredo must have attacked…