LISP to Math formula / Ruby code

Hi there, I’m a ruby developer and starting to be sketchup developer. I was looking for some formula for my bulge calculation and I stumble upon this LISP formula that could help me but unfortunately I don’t have any LISP experience and couldn’t understand it. Could someone help me translate this?

My attempt at translating this LISP function is below in post 5

Let us say that this topic would be a follow on from this one …

Yes, thanks it actually does apparently the formula that ive used previously returns unexpected behavior (arcs are rotating in different direction) but the bulge value is correct

Did you take into account the direction that the ArcCurve’s normal vector was pointing ?

The “sort of” translation to SketchUp Ruby is …

# Given a SketchUp ArcCurve object, returns the arc's start point, it's bulge
# and it's end point.
# @param arc_curve [Sketchup::ArcCurve]
# @return [Array<Geom::Point3d, Float, Geom::Point3d>]
def arc_to_bulge( arc_curve )
  pi = Math::PI
  c  = arc_curve.center
  r  = arc_curve.radius
  # Convert angles from radions to degrees:
  a1 = arc_curve.start_angle.radians
  a2 = arc_curve.end_angle.radians
  #
  start_point = arc_curve.first_edge.start.position
  end_point   = arc_curve.last_edge.end.position
  #
  # Define a Lambda (ie, an anonymous function) ...
  func = ->(a) { Math.sin(a) / Math.cos(a) }
  bulge = func.call(
    # ... and immediately call the lambda where the argument is:
    (pi + pi + (a2 - a1)).remainder(pi + pi) / 4.0
  )
  return start_point, bulge, end_point
end

I say “sort_of” because I did not recreate AutoLISP’s polar function.

NOTE: I did not examine the function (method) for correctness. The example LISP function most likely relies upon assumptions in the AutoCAD geometric model.

For example, what is the assumed angular datum (vector) for the angles and does it matter if it differs in the SketchUp geometric model ?