Html dialog box to set and get information

I’m trying to send and get some array information from Ruby using htlm dialog. I’m a beginner and I have some problems to understand how they exchange information. I will apreciate a simple example with two arrays; the first array only to show Ruby model values with no permission to change them, and the second array to show Ruby values (even empty) with permission to change them and send them back to Ruby. Thanks.

What is your background and programming ability? Are you fluent in Ruby, HTML, and javascript? Have you studied the SketchUp Ruby API docs and examples?

What I’m driving at is that many of us are reluctant to “do your homework for you” when you haven’t shown us any effort to do it yourself. Take a stab at it and then ask for help with specific issues you encounter in your code.

1 Like

See the pinned list of Ruby Learning Resources that I posted in the Ruby API subcategory

… and please post your Ruby coding questions in the Ruby API subcategory.

This is what we’d call “read only” access.

I have actually been attempting to create just such an example, but it has become too complicated (because of platform differences and language translation issues,) to serve as a novice example.

So I am in need of another kind of SketchUp data for a simpler example.

(1) What kind of “model values” would you want to see but not change ?

(2) What kind of “model values” would you want to be able to edit in the HTML dialog ?