How to hide or dock HtmlDialog? Is c extension only the solution?

I have been creating a plugin for a few months that is a Htmldialog application. There are 2 features important to it, but seem not available yet in Htmldialog api:

1. Hide the Htmldialog. The Htmldialog window can be closed or brought to front, but not hidden. It is not convenient, because the page has to be loaded when it is re-opened every time.

2. Dock the Htmldialog. I read the add-abilitity-to-dock-htmldialogs. The feature has not been implemented yet.

I would like to turn to c/c# extension for the 2 features above. But I do not know where to start with? Thanks for any suggestions.

1 Like

If you have already the two problems above, don’t you think moving to C/C# without experience will rather create more problems than less?

That depends on how you close it. As far as I’m aware, close hides the dialog so that it can be reshown any number of times as long as you keep a reference to it (instead of creating a new dialog every time, which needs to reload the page). However if you don’t keep a reference, the dialog will be garbage collected and removed from memory.

How to keep the reference? I create the Htmldialog:

dialog = UI::HtmlDialog.new({...})

And close it with:

dialog.close

Use Instance Variables:

@dialog = UI::HtmlDialog.new({...})
@dialog.show
@dialog.close

# code
# code....

@dialog.show
1 Like

Just in case if you have not seen yet:

" The #visible? method is useful to tell if the dialog is shown and still alive, if the dialog is minimized or not visible on the screen this will still return true ."

I believe that 1 of the window styles allows the dialog to go behind the application window.

:wink: proof:

UI::HtmlDialog::STYLE_DIALOG
HtmlDialog stays at the top of SketchUp.

UI::HtmlDialog::STYLE_WINDOW
HtmlDialog can go behind SketchUp and doesn’t disappear when SketchUp looses focus.

UI::HtmlDialog::STYLE_UTILITY