How to create realistic object without using texture?

Hello,

Sorry for my english I hope you’ll understand me :slightly_smiling:

I’m a bit new to SketchUp and I want to use it to create and 3D Print objects like medieval houses, Castles…
My use don’t include of course the use of textures and I’d like to know how is it possible to create those objects with the time degradation.

For example: http://www.tabletop-world.com/townHouseII.php
All elements are “old” like beam with groove, wall where we see stones etc. Is it something possible in Sketchup? Do I need some extensions? or is there some tutorial to learn for this?
Well in the end I don’t want to create something perfect like actual houses for example but something old where effects are sculpted in the modeling process.

Thanks in advance

That house use heavy bump maps which apparently are later on imposed on the house. I also believe that there are some printers that allows you to select a texture bump to print onto some of the material.Or is that before printing? It is nearly impossible to model like that, especially in Sketchup.
You can model things up to a level of detailing but not like that, not even half of those details.

Thanks for your reply, I perhaps don’t want to go so deeper and this house I presume is not printed but done with some resine method (perhaps with molder or whatever). This was just an example to illustrate my words :).

It is possible to get a great deal of detail in SketchUp, the house you linked is something that might be better made in a different program if you need that level of detail. However, I find that with a little bit of effort and putting in the time, you can get a good amount of detail in your models.

One shingle component used to make a more complex component.

More tweaking tips and organic methods. The FredoScale extension is at SketchUcation. And there are other subdivision plugins which will further morph geometry - hope your computer can handle lots of polys.