Fill odd shaped object that doesnt align normally

First and foremost I am a total noob in Sketchup, although I did learn a lot the past few weeks.
I am designing some taillight inserts to add extra lighting to them. I’ve made a sketch that resembles the outer shape of the blinker portion of the taillight.
The thing is, I want it to be one solid piece that I can draw onto to delete sections (It needs to have a hole in the middle and some inserts into the model)
I have no clue on how to do this, especially with the shape being the way it is.
Could someone explain to me how to do this? I already tried placing a cube into it and intersecting faces, but that didn’t do anything.
If someone could help me that would be great!

If I made any dumb mistakes, please do let me know. I really wanna learn to use this to the best of my abilities.

You can try something like this

2 Likes

Thank you for the quick reply. I tried it and it doesnt really work
It deforms the object in odd ways since the top parts have a curve to them…

In your first post, you showed a different thickness in the images. For what you showed in the second post, you can try this way

That did the trick for the front!

However it doesnt wanna do it for the rear. Am I missing something?

The UI doesnt show any options

It wasn’t a trick, it that’s how it was supposed to work.
The model in the image of your third post differs from the previous one and from how I showed you that it can be done.
What is the actual shape you want to achieve in the end? Did you watch the video carefully?

Its the same model. On my 1st post it was a first version. After your reply I made the 2nd version.
Thats when the odd deformity happened when trying to push/pull.
Then after your method of using Curviloft I got stuck with the rear side of the model. I do the exact same thing as with the front part (selecting all the lines and then using Curviloft) but the Curviloft interface does not give me any options anymore.