Convertible Step Stool & Chair

I found a really old plan from Woodworker’s Journal for this convertible step stool and chair. I searched for a Sketchup drawing to build this project for my website https://mandobrit.wordpress.com/, but I had no luck, so I made one myself. Not being an expert I found the exercise somewhat challenging. However, I would like to share my work with other woodworkers.
Any comments appreciated. Thank you.

Convertible Step Stool & Chair.skp (726.5 KB)

Since I first added this .skp, i took the suggestions and worked on the components. I think I improved file, but would appreciate any comments about the updated file. How did I do on improving the Sketchup file?

Nice work. Now you can add the joinery. ; )

That’s a very interesting design you have there, it looks good.

I notice you have components nested inside groups. In my opinion, this only leads to more work down the road as or when you want to change something. I’ve said it before but again, I used to do that and still kick myself for it.
In your model for example, if you add or move components inside the groups I’ve highlighted, it will not be reflected in the copy of it. The solution would be to delete the “old” copy, then copy the changed one over again. That is if you remember! Which in turn can lead to errors if you end up working off the “old” one.
If you switch these groups for components any changes you make to one will be reflected in the other automatically. You can think a bit less and have added peace of mind.
One thing I note is that you have two variations of backrest. You can still use components for these, all you have to do is make the top level component unique and switch out the back components inside these.

There is a reversed face on the upper rail of the stool. You can correct this by selecting it, right click, reverse face.