Blue axis not lining up with building

Hi Sketchup Masters. I studied all weekend and now I will try to put all the thijngs I have learned into a drawing for a customer. My first issue was that the blue vertical line does not sit at 90 degrees. The original photo contains a lead edge on the building that is 90 degrees. I can’t really start the modeling if it is not at a right angle. Is there a way to true up the modeling grid so that all the lines line up? Thanmkyou in advance for any suggestions/help you may be able to offer. RoB

Can you share the image you started with or the SKP file as you have it now?

Can I attach the SKP without leaving this page?

https://app.box.com/s/62qond9dqca0zrhuxftnapfsqgijr1x0

Click the reply button on this page and then the upload icon at the top of the reply window (seventh from the left, looks like a little block with an upward arrow).

File is too big for uploading
So I sent it to you via the cloud
Thankyou Dave

Downloading now. I think just the image file would have been sufficient in this case.

Well, that image just isn’t suitable for Match Photo. Most likely it has been cropped from the original image. From the appearance of the shaded side, it looks like it’s had some other editing applied in an attempt to bring out the detail in the shadows so it wouldn’t surprise me if it was cropped, too.

If you noticed in your studying, there are two essential requirements for an workable image. First, there need to be parallel lines that run off to vanishing points on the horizon. You seem to have that. The second is the image must not be cropped nor have any perspective correction applied.

1 Like

Dave, as usual you beat me to the punch, but I was also going to observe that the photo appears to already have been adjusted (perhaps to reduce converging verticals) such that it does not have two-point perspective any longer. Match photo can’t undo the prior edits.

2 Likes