Axis precision issues

Please help… I am desperately trying to integrate SketchUp into our architectural workflow and continue to run into roadblocks…

I am using Sketchup as a schematic design tool to develop massing models and plan layouts for our projects. I am a veteran user of SketchUp and have extremely high standards for clean modeling practices. My process is fairly straight forward, I generate a 3D shell based on plan concepts to later generate some 2D plans. My walls are all on axis and I have no issues in either phase of this process.

My models:

Here’s how the plan gets drawn:

The plan is grouped as a component that I can later save it as a unique model to export as a 3D dwg file for the drafting team to use as a background to generate a BIM model. I even go as far as drawing the plan on tags/layers for clarity.

Here’s where we run into problems. When I export the SketchUp generated plan into a DWG, the perfectly orthogonal SketchUp plan turns into a not-so orthogonal DWG. The Line selected below should be 162 inches exactly and at an angle of 180 degrees. As you can see, it’s not the case.

In an attempt to problem solve this I took the SketchUp plan model and scaled it up by 1,000,000X and sure enough I was seeing the same lines in the DWG that are off-axis are now also off-axis in the model. Note that same line that was selected in the DWG is now ~ 13,500,002’-11 3/32" long and off 53/64" off in the Y direction from end to end.

While these are unperceivable anomalies, the fact that the lines rotate by any amount off axis has completely exacerbated in the BIM model causing dimensioning errors and a number of other problems.