Free rendering extensions?

I’m new to Sketch Up but experienced w/ Maya, and just started using the Pro Trial version- are there any free rendering extensions (aside from the free trial versions). Wondering why Sketch Up doesn’t include a rendering engine w/ it- or does a more expensive version come w/ one?

Thanks!

Search the forum for ‘rendering’. There are several free ones, some of which are slightly limited versions of paid-for programs, others completely free.

See for example this topic

Thanks John,
I’ll try that search- in the mean time I tried exporting it to Maya as an obj and then fbx to render it there, but the mesh came in all “welded” together. I’m just in the process of trying out Sketch Up and so far impressed w/ it

I can highly recommend Twilight Render Hobby which is a free plugin and works entirely within sketchup. Have been using Twilight since 2010 and find it really easy to use with a lot of flexibility built in. I believe it is based on Kerkythea which is totally public domaine but is tuned to make it much easier and intuitive to use. There is also a paid for pro version with even greater functionality and extra bells and whistles should you require.
Check out the Twilight Render Forum for some great examples of what can be done.

It is simple to search the forums and particular categories. Here is a search that will show you this question is asked several times each month:

https://forums.sketchup.com/search?q=free%20render%20category%3A27

1 Like

Count me as one who is thankful that SketchUp doesn’t include a rendering engine!

One of the things that continues to impress me about SketchUp is that, for the most part, they’ve striven to keep to the basics, which for SketchUp is to be an incredibly powerful surface modeler. At the same time, they allow extensibility through plugins/extensions.