Working with Softplan models in Sketchup

I have been using Softplan for about 6 years now, and its the best software that I have found for both designing and modeling my houses. But the rendering part of it is just not capable of producing the high quality of renderings that I want. So I recently bought Sketchup Pro 2021 and the Vray for Sketchup plugin.

My question is, once I import my Softplan model into Sketchup, what do I need to do to it in order for me to be able to edit the materials on the house, or the grass, etc. The only way so far that I have found is to explode the model and then explode all of the separate components. But surely there is a much easier and efficient way to do this. So if there are any Softplan users out there Im hoping you can give me some advice.

Thanks in advance

Bernard Turner

Try with right click on the model > Edit component/group. Only on very rare occasions is it necessary to use Explode.

1 Like

If the model already has different materials attached, you can select and replace them in V-ray’s Asset Editor.

Bernard,
For more precise advice:
Perhaps you can share a model here that Softplan “outputs”
I am assuming Softplan allows a save as .skp or export to .skp?

Charlie

Good morning Charlie, I have picked a smaller house that I did a few years ago and exported my model from Softplan to Sketchup. I havent done anything to it yet other than import it and save the file. So feel free to play with it and see what you come up with. I appreciate your help.

Bernard

Bennett Elcan.skp (3.11 MB)

Bernard,
I had a quick look and two things I can see that will help you.

(1) Reversed faces w/materials applied will play heck with you in any render software.
See attached scene…blue faces are “reversed” and all should be properly oriented.
This can be done manually or with the aid of an extension to speed things up.