Why do I always end up with holes in mesh? (Yes, I'm a beginner)

Of course, I started only a few weeks ago and I enthusiastically push, pull, extrude, etc. I design for 3D printing, I use SolidInspector2, and I almost always seem to end up with difficult-to- or impossible-to-repair holes in mesh. Sometimes, deleting a face and reclosing it, removing some lines does it, but this time I’m stuck…

Here’s a seemingly simple model with holes in it that I cannot seem to close.

Q1: I tried redrawing many lines, which usually works, but none will accept to close the missing faces (in front and under the right leg). How can I manage to close them?

Q2: More importantly, what am I doing wrong that always gets me in trouble like that? I started that model from a tall rectangle obviously, extruded the T-shaped track from the bottom, then pushed the cathedral-roof and the oblique faces at the bottom both pushing from the face, and I did some quite severe cutting on the face that is currently exposed to get rid of an unflat surface. But… is there a specific order I should follow?

Q3: See included screen shot (png) with solid inspector on. I honestly never really understand the instructions when SolidInspector tells me to “fix the holes in the mesh.” What am I supposed to do with these red lines? Redraw them? Redraw the black ones? I’m clueless. :slight_smile:

I included both the skp model and a png:

example - holes in mesh.skp (1.1 MB)

I’m not sure what to tell you other than to keep practicing your basic construction skills, paying particular attention to inferencing feedback, making certain that every edge and shape you draw is on-axis, which apparently you are not doing.