Wait for model to print pdf

I am writing a simple plugin that plots every layer separately into a pdf file - architects then use those for vector postprocessing. Essentially it is a simple loop, and it works perfectly on a simple model, but on a heavy model
it looks like it plots pdf before the view is updated, or something, resulting in empty or semi-empty pdfs…
I obviously can hard-code some wait time, but what would be the best way to guarantee the proper result?
(I am quite new to rubi and skp api so general code-wise suggestions are also welcome!)

visible.each do |lname|

layers.each do |l|
    		current = l.name == lname
    		l.visible = current
    		if(current)
    			model.active_layer = l
    		end
    	end

path = dirname + "/#{lname}.pdf"
    	status = model.export(path, options_hash)
    	count = count + 1

end

It sounds like the issue is that refreshing the view is asynchronous, and when you change the visibility of a lot of layers the pdf export starts before the refresh has completed. Ruby generally blocks the main SketchUp engine while it runs, and this makes it hard to assure completion of a side-effect such as redrawing the view before Ruby proceeds. You might try a View#refresh to force an immediate redraw, but be wary of the warnings about possible crashes in the API docs. Calling View#invalidate won’t help, as it just schedules the view for a redraw, it does not assure when that redraw will happen.

Here are a couple of ideas to speed up the crucial block of your code. They may or may not actually help with the issue (I don’t have a model on hand with enough layers to check).

• Don’t bother setting the model’s active_layer. It only affects what will be used by default for adding new geometry (same as checking the box at the left in the layers inspector window). It has no effect on what’s visible in the view. It’s a user GUI thing that is irrelevant to what you are doing.