Updated Model Scenes

Okay, I’m doing a landscape model for a customer and have the base plan, etc finished. Now, I want to do a series of proposed changes to the property and give them an idea of their options (i.e… a different shaped patio, re-vamped design to an existing deck, etc)

How do I create a new scene and then start sketching new patio lines without changing my previously sketched scenes?

Probably a pretty basic concept, but I’m new to Sketchup.

Thanks for the time!

Go to the scene you’ve already created and create a new scene. If you are saving camera positions, you will have the same view as in the previous scene. Before making that new scene, you might want to turn off layers to make things you don’t want to show invisible. You can also turn off layers later and update the scene which will let you use what you’ve drawn as references for the new stuff.

@DaveR

Thanks for the reply.

I’m getting it, sort of. The new entity I’ve drawn comes in well on the sketch, but when I turn off the old entity it leaves a white patch underneath. How can I bring the old entity’s footprint back to shaded? Is this a “healing” process like when working with terrain?

Guess I’d need to see your SKP file to tell you how to fix it.

Final Project Sample.skp (136.5 KB)

The issue is with the “Deck” and “New Deck.” The “New Deck” shows well with the shading, but the “Deck” leaves the white footprint when turned off. The other groups in the model do the same but it’s not an issue unless I want to turn them off with updated Scenes, moving forward.

Is there a fix with this? Perhaps it’s an issue with “Layer” ?

Oops, I meant “Layer 0”

Yes, there’s a fix and no, it isn’t an issue with “Layer 0”.