Trouble with 3D components

Hi everyone, I’m Romain, from france, so excuse my english.

I’m a beginner on Sketchup, but i would say i know quite enought to use it for my personnal handiworks since 2 or 3 years. I now want to use it for professional purpose, I’m a landscaper and i would like that my clients can see the final results, by drawing their house/garden and show them how they will look like by putting some plants here or there.

The problem is that i want to use 3D warehouse to download ready made components such as trees, plants, plants pot…and as soon as i download more than 2 or 3 blocks, or only one with a lot of lines, (for example: horsetail in a pot) sketchup crashes, and i have to quit. It’s makes it specially when i try to move, resize or paste the 3D block…

I’m quite surprised because i didn’t face any trouble since i used 3D components so far. I have an Imac from 2014, which i think is quite clean, and we have also tried on my brother’s Macbook, same trouble…

So i think I don’t use sketchup well, no layers or specifics settings, or nothing, and i guess it comes from that kind of reasons.

Can someone enlight me because i’m so frustrated, cause i love so much using it and it would be a perfect tool for my work ans my customers!!!

Thank you so much!

Exactly which component are you referring to? I looked at the 3D Warehouse and didn’t find one called “horsetail in a pot”.

Does SketchUp crash or does it just stall? If you try adding the component to an otherwise empty file do you get the same behavior?

How large is the file you are trying to add the plant to?

Commonly when SketchUp actually crashes after adding some highly detailed component, the problem is related to the graphics card not being able to handle the load. It would be helpful if you add the graphics card information to your profile. You could try changing the style to Monochrome or Hidden Line so that you don’t overload the graphics card with textures.