Sprocket middle prints

Hello,

My first time using makerbot and sketchup. I am a student who is attempting to make a plastic sprocket for a hydraulic pump that is used in a thermal evaporator machine. I downloaded catalog sprocket plug-in and created my design, pictured below. Once it started printing, I noticed makerbot printed the middle also. I previously used subtract and thought the inside was gone, but the entire middle printed. I have used circles fine to remove the middle. I have tried intersecting and deleting but nothing is working. I heed an innertube shape with teeth on the both sides of circle. Any help is much appreciated as my last 3 hours have been without results. Thanks

It’s not quite clear what you are after. Is it a “two teeth rings” sprocket that lacks a cilindrical hole in the middle? Or do you want to subtract the two wheels to create one wheel with teeth on both the outside and on the inner hole?

Thank you for the response. I did do a bad job of explaining, and could only post 1 picture. Below is a picture of the desired outcome from my first attempt. There was a small layer at the bottom that printed the entire 1/4 inch of the sprocket. I chiseled it away but there must be an easier way for future reference, and also to allow a better fit for the inside.

Right now I am creating an inner ring and outer ring and trying to combine with a hollow circle. Thanks again.

Derek

Design a larger sprocket (A) without hole.
Design the “hole” (B) (as in image, with teeth) as if it were a smaller sprocket. It is going be the void in the desired result.
Subtract B from A. This could be done bby intersecting them in the same context. Or with one of the ‘Solid’ tools in SketchUp Pro.

Both A and B need to have the same thickness.
And make sure that the result has only front (white by default) faces on the outside.