SketchUp Thinks I'm Offline and Follow Me Function Doesn't Work

I am a MAKE user still using 2017 evaluation copy. I have run SketchUp Check Up and found that my graphics card is appropriate but does not have sufficient memory (512KB vs 1GB). All other system requirements passed the tests.

PROBLEM 1: Why does SketchUp think I do not have an internet connection? When I launch SketchUp 2017 evaluation version I am presented with a screen which says, “It looks like you might be offline”. This is not true, I have a wired Ethernet connection and all my other applications which use the internet (e.g. Google) access the internet just fine.

PROBLEM 2: The Follow-Me tool is not working. Why is this? All of the other functions such as Push/Pull, Copy, etc. work just fine. In fact, since I’m new to SketchUp I have been experimenting with all the tools and Follow-Me is only tool that is not working.

I would appreciate some help as soon as possible since I am attempting to design a crafting table for my wife.

How did you install SketchUp?

You MUST use ‘Run as administrator’ when you install it. It isn’t sufficient just to be logged in as an administrator.

Try closing SU, find the downloaded installer (.exe) file, R-click and choose ‘Run as administrator’.

Then choose the Repair option. If that doesn’t fix the internet connection problem, post again here.

If that also doesn’t fix FollowMe, then describe the steps you are using - it can be tricky to get the hang of it. Upload a sample file to accompany the description.

I get that same “offline” message from time to time but I just ignore it and go on.

Follow-Me seems to have a limit on the number of segments it will handle. On several occasions it has failed to work but, after “breaking” up the path in two or three smaller pieces, it worked as expected.