Saving a model loses surface edges

I am an industrial designer and use SU to create systems products for a large furniture company. We work on things that as an assembly can be of architectural scale but are made of things that are very fine scaled. Often I create models of aluminum extrusions that have very fine details, small radii in particular.

I often import DXF files from my engineers from ProE which is always a 2D model with excellent line continuity. I generally import them at a large size, if the model is in mm, I will set the import units at yards or similar to have all of the detail import properly and not suffer the loss of lines on arcs etc. I will then use “add faces” to create the faces and then resize the resulting faced, 2D element to the size it actually should be.

The bug I often run into is that when I save the file, that SU will unceremoniously delete the now very small line segments which make up the outline and I lose the surface of the object.

The same happens if I copy and then paste the faced object into another SU model.

If however I Push/Pull the face, it will keep all of the faces. Usually.

It would be nice if it would keep the data integrity despite the small size.

How small is small? SU has a problem with very small things. Hence the Dave Method.

Quite small, the issue is even using the ‘Dave’ method, when I go to save the smaller line segments will disappear along with the surface.

However if as I said I extrude the surface before saving, it will keep the faces and the small lines as part of the now 3D model.

There are just times when I just need the surfaced, 2D model with the lines intact to export to have steel templates lasered out by my model shop.

You might need to look at your export settings. For example you can model in Meters and export in Millimeters.

you are still best served by exporting 3D as it preserves arcs and curves…