Same Document open at same time on x2 machines

Hi all, we are an exhibition design company and have a number of designers in our studio. Is there a way of stopping someone opening a sketch up document when another person already has the file open?? We have had instances where x2 people have worked on a file at the same time so one persons amends have overriden another persons amends. I would of thought that if the file is open on anothe rmachine you would get a message to say its already in use or something, is there a preference I can set?

Is your office working from a local shared drive, or a cloud system or Trimble Connect?