Pushbutton cover..help

Hi folks, I’m a newbie at Sketchup, I’m trying to create a pushbutton cover like the picture, I’ve made the cap but can’t figure out how to make the inside parts particularly how to center the 1.3mmx3mm wide rectangular block to the 3.7mm x 0.6mm thick protruding tapered tab. this is a 12mmx12mm cap so its small

any help or hints appreciated

The model is pretty small, so you should scale it up while drawing and scale back down to real size when completed. Otherwise the shapes look pretty straightforward. Can you tell us more about what you tried and exactly what went wrong? Midpoint inferencing should make it pretty simple to center one thing on another.

Also, if you can upload your model here people can give you specific guidance.

Depending on how new you are, you might want to view this: http://blog.sketchup.com/sketchupdate/six-“rules-success”-SketchUp-beginners

1 Like

Sure, How do I upload my models?

I’m extremely green… So I’m trying to get used to the commands and how the program works. I’ve already viewed many tutorials on youtube, looks pretty simple but hands on is a different story.

When you reply, use this button:to upload

Question there . . How much can you zoom to the part where you want to add this tiny part to ? And maybe get a center of the spot you want to attach before zooming . . then Zoom and add the tiny part . . What does this fit ? Sounds like a computer key button of sorts and looks like the under side of one . .MAYBE Make the tiny part off the area and move to the Center of where ever is another Ideal . . I did this with some 3 D Text I added to a part As I did not like the spot where I put it down first . . And changed the size and the font also . .

sorry, is the “model” the file itself? or a picture of ?

The skp file.