Push/pull tool creates a thin wall that when deleted shells out the whole model

When I create a rectangle on a surface and push or pull the feature, a thin wall is created. If I delete the wall, the entire model shells out. I am using the tag features to set the rectangle on the edges, but don’t understand why the thin fin is created. Any ideas?

Perhaps you could share the SKP file that shows the problem? Commonly when this occurs it’s because the two faces aren’t exactly parallel with each other.

Thanks, I’ll attach the file later today. I appreciate the response!

DaveR,
I’ve attached the file. Note the push that created the thin fin in the forward wall. All parts were created with the push/pull function, I don’t know how it would not be parallel. I’m new to Sketchup and obviously lacking training.
Thanks!

Loco Box Base.skp (35.4 KB)

I had a look. It does seem to be the slightest bit off square. On thing I noticed is when checking dimensions in your model with Entity Info, I see a lot of dimensions preceded by ~ which indicates the dimensions aren’t exact. Even with Precision set to 1/64" as you have it, the dimensions are still off. Are you entering distances and dimensions or just trying to get close with the cursor when you draw the line?

By the way, I redrew it quickly and didn’t have any problem with that dado coming out the end correctly.
Loco Box Base.skp (34.0 KB)

Looks to me like it’s just one of those times SU doesn’t quite cut the edge properly. As you see here a new line replaces the missing face.

Edit: Strike that.
The query tool indicates it’s the corner edge.

Shep

Thanks for looking. I’ve been entering dimensions and assumed I was exactly precise to 1/64th. I’m not sure how I got the “~” setting set. I’m working in iso; could that be a reason?