Push-pull & best practices

I am a newbie with SU Pro 2019. I am seeing two different behaviors by the push-pull tool, and I don’t understand why.

If I draw a random rectangle, and apply push-pull, it generates a 6-sided closed cube. But on my house model, when I apply push-pull to a wall face or floor face, it moves the face and stretches the bounding faces, but won’t generate a closed entity. My walls and floor plates will always have one face missing.

I suspect that the answer to the above may tie into my second question. Given a model of a two-story house, which of these would be best practice in SketchUp: to first draw the full height exterior wall enclosure, then draw the floor plates within the enclosure; or to draw in succession the cellar walls, first floor plate, first floor walls, second floor plate, etc. (with floor plates extended to the exterior face of the house)?

SketchUp seems not to like duplicate or overlapping faces, so drawing hierarchy would appear to matter.

The orientation of the PushPulled face affects the resultant 3d extrusion - i.e. either it’s a full ‘box’ or a box without the original face…
If you get a resultant extrusion that you don’t want, then ‘undo’ it [Ctrl+Z]… and repeat the PushPull on the face with the Ctrl key - this will add the missing box’s face [or omit it] as you might wish…

1 Like