Publishing & continuing abandoned extension

How can I continue an extension that is apparently abandonware? Is it a violation of terms of use?

A very nice little extension going by the name ‘cutlist’ has not seen updates in 3 years. The author actually passed away around the time of the last version’s publication, as mentions one of the reviewers. I have some improvements and would like to share with others which may benefit from it. What to do?

Thanks
Assaf

First of all, check what license (if any) the extension was published under. Many extensions are open source.

If there is no license I think you either have to discuss it with the authors relatives who inherited the right to the work, wait 67 years (or whatever it takes for it to enter the public domain) or create a new extension yourself. I’m no lawyer so I may be wrong on this.

I actually offered to pick up support of the CutList extension earlier and inquired about how to go about it, as the EW’s license terms forbid modification of extensions downloaded from there. As you note, this is a special case as the original author, Steve R, has passed away and obviously won’t do any further development or maintenance.

In brief, the reply I got was that the only feasible way would be to create and submit a new, almost identical extension of my own, exploiting the fact that the existing code contains headers that grant permission to reuse or adapt the code provided the original copyright notice is preserved. The relationship between this action and the EW license, which would seem to forbid it, was not explained. That seemed like a bad approach, both on ethical grounds and because it would leave two inconsistent versions in the EW. So, having enough else to do, I dropped the idea.

On ‘3/22/2018’ I Rafael Rivera declare that If I ever was to pass away, please ignore any copyright on all my extensions and modify them as you please without any repercussions.