Problem with Layout

I’m using sketchup pro 2014. I hardly use sketchup nowadays, so I never bothered upgrading. My problem is that when trying to use layout, when I right click on an imported drawing I get a popup with the options, paste, object snap, grid snap, show grid and render models on page. Im not getting any options to manipulate the drawing or its content on the page! What’s wrong?

How about sharing the LayOut file so we can see what you’ve done?

Ok, here is a screenshot of a newly imported drawing and the result of a right click.

I’ll repeat: how about uploading the LAYOUT file so we can see what you’ve done?

Is that what you meant by sharing the file? I’m new to layout, this forum and its technical functions. I never used layout before, but I was asked to make a presentation for our school, which is why I ventured into it.

I’m asking for the LayOut file. It’s the one with the .layout extension you’d get after hitting Save in LayOut.

The file is too big to send, or so the popup said. What to do?

Upload it to Google Drive or DropBox and share the link.

I’d venture to suggest that you have 2D images imported in your layout doc and the right click options you mention are all that’s available for “manipulation”. If you want to manipulate the “image” in a 3D way you would need to import SKP files into the layout doc (which have an initial view per the saved scene) but a right click will invoke the ability to “Edit 3D view” Maybe that’s the issue?

Ok, here it is! And thanks for your interest!

It is a 3d .skp file that I imported. I actually sent it from the Sketchup file menu. But I also tried importing into layout, same result.

When I right click on the image I get the sorts of menu entries I’d expect for right clicking on a viewport. After you select the viewport, you can change the scene to the desired one in the SketchUp Model window. I expect you weren’t right clicking on the viewport.