Panels - Bending - Hood

I’m a newbie and trying to learn but struggling with simple things. I have a vent hood for a kitchen that I would like to place panels on. Once those panels are placed, I would like to use Unwrap & Flatten so I can take those panels into VCarve Pro and then cut them on my CNC. I’m struggling with the panel portion and how to start. I need the panels to be anywhere from a 1/4" to 3/8" thick. I talked with a friend that once his shape is defined he uses Profile Builder 3 to pull the shape and wrap the 3 sides of the hood.

I’m not sure if someone can help me, or point me to some video’s, but currently lost. TIA

Hood.skp (337.1 KB)

With native Follow Me tool

Basics of SketchUp at https://learn.sketchup.com/

So, I’m at the step of pasting the object, and switching to Offset, but I loose my line? What am I doing wrong?

You cannot offset broken geometry. It needs to be welded first :wink:. Select the parts of the line and right click, choose ‘weld’

1 Like

Actually you can offset the unwelded edges but a continuous string of edges need to be selected. Welding the edges makes that much easier and results in a cleaner Follow Me operation.

Even if they’re not a part of the same face? I couldn’t do it when I tried on this model earlier. But yeah, I think I would have welded in any case just to avoid the spilt look on the face created by follow :slightly_smiling_face:

Try drawing three connected planar edges with the Line tool. Don’t weld them. Select the three and then use Offset. It’s the same with an arc or other curve that has been exploded.

1 Like

You just can’t have a gap or branch in the edges.

1 Like

I think I’m missing something in this process. I can get this part, but not sure how to “Follow Me”, as I can not get it to follow the lines I have selected.

Hood Side Profile Built.skp (348.0 KB)