New user - Query about workflow for creating a model of an object

Hi there.

I’m brand new to this forum and to SketchUp in general, I’ve been using it for two months. I have a question about workflow, the order or process with regards to how to go about recreating a real world object within SketchUp.

For example, I’d like to create the object in the attached, but I know there is probably a certain order that would be best practice to create this item.

I don’t need to be shown how to create it because I can search this forum for ways to do specific things, which I thank you all in advance for; but I would appreciate some tips regarding what order I should do things in order to create it, and what I should think about beforehand when creating objects like this so that I don’t end up having to undo work in order to correct the process.

Thanks in advance for any support you can provide to me, it is very much appreciated.

Paul

Poly x30.pdf (423.4 KB)

Depends on what you want to do with the model once created. For example, if you just want its outside to look like it does in the image, you don’t need to be bothered about what goes on inside the case. If you want to send something to be 3d printed, you need to take certain precautions.

In general, you need to work out first which elements need to be discrete and model them as a Group or Component.

Thanks Simon for responding. This model would be used for images only, no need to worry about internals.

Thank you.

Paul