Microsoft Train Simulator Plug in issues

I am new to Sketchup and in order for me to be able to use it, I need to be able to export files into Microsoft Train Simulator. There is a plug in written for it that worked great in version 8 but, now is having issues. Can someone look at this and see if it can be fixed or maybe it is just me.

http://www.rail3d.info/tools/sketchup.aspx

Here is a youtube video that shows how the plugin is supposed to work. It’s in Czech but, using an english Sketchup. Start the video around 7:03 mark.

He is also using a rendering on how far the object can be seen. Is that a different plugin?I would appreciate any help to get this to work. Maybe someone can update the code to make it work in the newer versions.

Hi Rudy,

The download page for the Rail3D plugin states it has been … "Revised for SketchUp Make 2015"
Unfortunately, due to the way the plugin files are organized, one would have to install them manually.

I ‘repackaged’ the plugin files as an .rbz and it installed in SU 2017 without issue.
SU_2_Rail3D.rbz (4.4 KB)

Here’s an .STK file exported via the plugin from SU 2017.
(Zipped because the forum doesn’t support .stk files)
Simple House SU2Rail3D Test.zip (660 Bytes)

Here’s the SU 2017 model file from which the .STK file was exported.
Simple House Test Model.skp (30.8 KB)

Wow you guys do work fast on here. So, I take those 3 files and put them in my plugin folder Myapp data…?

No. You take the file with the .rbz extension, put it anywhere you like (your Downloads folder, for instance), and, in Sketchup 2017, open the Extensions manager and add it from there.

Anssi

No … !

Here’s how how to install .rbz plugins in SU 2017.

1. In SketchUp, select Window > Extension Manager. The Extension Manager window appears.
  2. Click the Install Extension button.
  3. In the Open dialog box that appears, navigate to the .rbz file saved to your computer, select the file, and click OK (Microsoft Windows) or Open (Mac OS X).