Maximum length in DC and hide a group in DC with list

I trying to build a dynamic component of a hollow core slab and want to at 2 options. I’m pretty new to DC, but I know how to use a few of the basic attributes. I hope that somebody can help me.

I’m using the textbox for editing the length, but I want it to give it also a maximum length. Can somebody tell me if this is possible.

I’m also trying to hide a few groups with a list. For example the follow core slab have a joint on the right or left side and I’m want select the right or the left one.

hollow core slab.skp (266.6 KB)

Hi Andreas
I don’t have SU 2015 to open yours, but I’ll give you a possibility for your project.

For the maximum length, you can make a 2 new variable to equal the length provided, but if it’s over a certain length, it’ll just equal the max length:

LenX = NewX
TextX = Textbox (To allow user to input their measurement)
NewX = IF(TextX>100,100,TextX)

So they input into TextX
NewX’s value will equal to TextX unless it exceeds 100 in which case it’ll just stay at 100
LenX will equal NewX

As for hiding a part, if it’s a group within your component, it can have attributes. There is a function to hide the group (two values, 1 = hidden, 0 = visible). You just need to make a new variable with a list in the parent component (the overall component), on/off where “on” = 0 and “off” = 1, and have the hidden variable on the group’s attribute will equal that one:

Overall component
Hide: Show list: “on”=0, “off”=1

Group
Hidden: = Parent!Hide

Thanks.

But I want to show one side and not the other and vice versa.

You can make a variable and both groups’s hidden variable relate to it

Overall component
Hidelist: GroupA=1, GroupB=2

GroupA
Hidden: IF(Parent!Hidelist=1,1,0)

GroupB
Hidden: IF(Parent!Hidelist=2,1,0)

So in the list options, you just choose one, and the other will automatically hide as a result as well.

Thanks for your help.

Hi quantj,