Make a section through a piece of "butcher block"

Hello,
I want to see what a section through a piece of “butcher block” would look like…
So I drew up my block, using different wood styles for color.
Here is a link to my project:
my project
Could someone tell me how to make a hollow cylinder which has all the colors of the different woods it passes through?
I’m a newbie at SketchUp.
Many thanks for any help!

If you spend some time at The Learning Center, you will learn how to use the tools to get what you want. (interactive tutorials) Also, go to The SketchUp YouTube Channel and pay attention to the Square One series. Both are sponsored by the SketchUp Crew and well worth the time spent there.

I have…
Problem is that you can’t push / pull thru a Component or a Group.
And the raw 3-D part can’t be given colors…
It took a LOT to get the butcher block to look the way it does in my project, but it DOES require making Components and Groups…
Of course, the MAJOR limitation is that the 2 facing surfaces have to be coplanar…
Thanks!

Actually share the file with us. Download it to your computer and drag and drop the file into a reply here.

hmm… doesn’t let me upload the file…
Is the link not working?
upload the skp file, right?

Did you first download it to your computer? How big is the file?

The link only lets us view your model but not actually interact with it.

Yes.

Hope this works, Dave!

And THANKS!

Best regards,

Jay Prabhakar

ButcherBlock.skp (295 KB)

If you have the .skp file on your computer you should just be able to drag and drop the file in a reply here. Or use the Upload button which is about in the middle of the toolbar at the top of the reply window. It has an upward-pointing arrow.

I would usggest you remove your e-mail address from your previous post. Bots tend to troll forums like this collecting contact info.

done, Dave.
skp file was attached in the previous reply