Lines disappearing as zoom in & out

Lines disappering as Zoom out
RH Hexagon Feb 28~.skp (206.0 KB)
Why are lines appearing & disappearing as I zoom in & out. I’ve been doing SketchUp for 6 months & have never seen this.

Peter Enns

https://help.sketchup.com/en/sketchup/clipping-and-missing-faces

Looks as though you have a case of the above.

I doubt it is clipping, it looks like a simple case of a face that is not planar or edges off axis. But since the model uploaded isn’t the one in the vid it is hard to give a full answer.

In these six months have you ever tried going through the:

?

As has been suggested by others before.

1 Like

@Peter-7 i am begging you, on behalf of the entire SketchUp Forum community… PLEASE take or re-take the Fundamentals class at learn.SketchUp.com!

Abandon this model you have been struggling over and start again AFTER you learn the basics!

4 Likes

It looks like those lines are not actually “on/in” in the surface and are partially behind it.
I guess you’ve got “back edges” enabled which is why you are seeing them when they are behind.

If you turn on “color by axis” it will be easier to see if that is the case

It looks like you made Components out of your beams and Grouped them. That’s good. But the beams are still a bit crooked:

Aaron, Thank you for your suggestion. I really appreciate your suggestion.
00_Co-Work_Template.skp (1.2 MB)

I had gone over them before. But, I only did the beginner level courses. I did not realize there were intermediate level courses there.

I’m taking your Commercial Interiors course.

I got to the point where I get to the double doors, measure them with the Tape Measure tool & key in 6’. I’ve done that type of measuring before. One thing is different today. That Resizing Active Group message does not show up. I tried several times.

What’s wrong? Do you think my preferences could be set up wrong?

Peter Enns