Lifting body

Hi there,

I want to draw a 3D lifting body (essentially a triangularly shaped aircraft made out of an airfoil, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lifting_body) but I’m very new to SU so I need some feedback on which of the two below ideas is best, unless none is good and you have another one!

1. Use a 2D airfoil to create a 3D rectangular wing and then somehow “cut/shape” it into a lifting body.
  2. Create a 3D triangle and then use the 2D airfoil to somehow “sculpture/extract” a lifting body

Of course I’m not asking for step-by-step instructions, just some tutorials/examples (preferably videos) that would help me with the basic functions that would be needed to do this.

Thanks for your time and support!!

Neither of those options would be particularly efficient. The best thing is to start using plugins right from the get go for these types of things. To do that you should look at using SketchUp Make 2017 rather than the web version: https://www.sketchup.com/download/all

You want either Vertex tools and SubD or Vertex Tools and Artisan Toolset. You can create a basic mesh and then use subdivision to smooth it out. I will find a good tutorial and post it back on here later for you if nobody beats me too it.

You can also model from blueprints, there are plenty online for various USAF and NASA lifting bodies. You simply follow this tutorial but apply the subject to whatever you need rather than a car: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5116hUlem_8

Hi, I’m new to SU and would like to know more about " Vertex tools and SubD" and “Vertex Tools and Artisan Toolset”; are these extensions I can download? I’m also trying to make a wing airfoil that I can apply the “Push/Pull” and “Scale” tools to make a wing out of after lining-up the airfoil (as cross-sections). Thanks.

If you Google them you will find a wealth of information and tutorials on you tube and Sketchucation.com

More so than I can sum up for you.