Latest iMac Pro with SketchUp Pro

I am upgrading my workstation to the new iMac Pro. Do you have any experiences how well the SketchUp can use the resources iMac Pro provides (cores, graphics card…)? SketchUp is one of my main tools I use so the new workstation need to play well with that.

I believe apple has a 30 day (or maybe it’s 2 weeks) no questions asked money back guarantee.

So given that you’re upgrading to their latest and greatest hardware choices, and I assume also installing SU 2018. . . you’re probably in a small minority of people who have this combination as their current setup.

I’d just go for it, and don’t hesitate to go back for a refund if you run into problems. I can’t recall seeing any issue of late with SU running on OS X.

I’ve been running SU on a macbook pro for that last 4+ years or so (with no issues).

If this is partially a question of you wanting to know what the best computer system is for running SU… then I say go get a Windows machine. It’s pretty clear that Apple’s primary interest these days is in mobile computing, and NOT traditional Desktop/Laptop systems. and I say this mainly because they’ve done little to provide comparable options to what you can get if you were to configure your own Windows system.

1 Like

Apple has no Cuda based Nvidia in their new iMac Pro, only AMD.
The OpenGL of Nvidia is proven to be better when it comes to SketchUp and most Render-extensions, so even a top-range AMD with high OpenCL specs is likely to perform less.
Also, since all 3D modeling programs use just one core, a processor with less cores and higher speed is likely to perform better.
As @JimD mentioned, for SketchUp only, you would be better of with a windows system, money-wise.

It is probably a problem only if you plan to use GPU-based rendering applications (like the GPU rendering option in VRAY). Traditionally Macs with AMD graphics work OK with SketchUp. Their drivers are written by Apple.