Keeping groups separate

I am new to SU, and trying to follw good practice guidelines by working on Layer 0 initially, and using groups to separate geometry.

I am creating a model of my Georgian cottage for use in restoration and improvment work. I am creating it by tracing over architectural plans, imported into Sketchup and resized to ensure correct scale.

Currently I am tracing the external walls. I have subdivided these into groups as the house has sections built at different times with different heights, foundation depths, materials etc. I intend to allocate these groups to one super group of all external walls.

I created the first group, the main Georgian walls and that went fine. Then I wanted to add a second group, the pre-geogian Farmstead walls, which abut the main Georgian walls. Obviously I want them to be physically linked to the main Geogian walls, but not part of the same sub-group.

My problem is that if I draw the Farmstead walls from the Geogian walls SU appears to add them to the main Georgian walls group. If I start somewhere else, add the resulting edges to the Farmstead walls group, then draw from an edge in the Farmstead walls group to join the Georgian walls group, the resulting edges appear variably assigned to no group, the correct group or one of the other groups, and I am not sure how to reallocate them. There seems to be a create group function but I cannot find an add to group or change group allocation function.

And when I do it this way the faces in the Farmstead group don’t close, I suppose because I am relying on an edge from another group, the Georgian group for the closure. I am not sure how to create a duplicate Farmstead closure edge along a Geogian group edge, and ensure it is part of the Farmstead not the Geogian group.