Is there a best method to model a large quanty of rivets?

I’d like to show several hundred 1/2" rivets in a panel for a concept that I’m working on. I’ve been struggling with creating the rivet head (simple sphere) but realize it may be do to the small size. Is there a work around for this?
Marc

I’m still pretty new to SU so I’ll have to do some research on textures. I’ll have a look.
Thanks

I’m wondering if a texture would be effective for a whole bunch of individual rivet heads. You’d have to include the base color for the whole area in the texture.

You could model the rivets as a component by using a very low resolution dome (six or fewer segments per arc) completely softened.

-Gully

If you model the rivets there are several plugins that will help you place them.
This is one, Path Copy

2 Likes

I’ve been researching these suggestions and Path Copy looked like a good solution. I couldn’t get it to show up in SU and it appears that it’s now compatible with 2016. According to the install page in EW.
Thanks

The above gif is proof enough that it works in SU 2016.

I can’t still can’t get the plugin to show up in shetchup. I have since downloaded others that work and pathcopy_7.rbz is in ShetchUp2016\Plugins\ with the other .rb files. PathCopy is the only rbz. Not sure why that is.
Marc

.rbz files need to be installed not dropped in the plugin folder. Move it to you desktop or somewhere you can find it. Go to preferences / Extensions and click the install extention button and follow the prompts to the .rbz

Edit. Having said that the link I gave you was to the E Warehouse and it should have installed directly.

You must ‘install’ an RBZ.
You do NOT have to ‘put’ it anywhere - and you rarely need to look in your Plugins folder - leave the RBZ in Downloads, or put it on your Desktop…
Open your SketchUp’s Window > Preferences > Extensions, and then use the Install Extension… button.