Invisible collision surfaces

Hi everyone.

The image below attempts to explain what I am on about.

I create an obect with enclosed holes. For example, a raised walkway around a square. Or a wall with a big window in the middle. In theory an object moving in the square or through the window should not have any interaction with the walkway or wall. However on importing into an mmo the empty spaces turn out to be not holes at all, but invisible surfaces. So what looks like a hole or emptiness acts like a solid, and other objects attempting to move through the “empty” space collide and stop.

Also, using any modelling program (I am new to all this, regardless of software) I cannot see anything (polygons, whatever) in the emptiness.

So … how can I make actual holes using sketchup? Remove things or enclose spaces that really have nothing actually there?

Thanks!

I’m not knowledgeable about mmo’s, but this sounds to me like an issue with whatever process you are using to import the model into the mmo or perhaps with how the mmo interprets the geometry.

In your figure A, SketchUp will not have any geometry in the open space unless you created it there and subsequently hid it. Yes, as in figure B, when you close a boundary SketchUp will deduce that you meant to close a face and will create it for you. But this does not mean that some invisible geometry was already there; it did not previously exist. The blue line in figure C marks the bounding box of the group. It is a temporary display item, not real geometry.

Hi slbaumgartner.

Thanks for your answer :smile: I never considered that aspect of it and will see if I can do something on the upload side. That would explain why the other modelling software doesnt show anything in the holes! :smiley:

Thanks again :slight_smile: And cross fingers for me! If I can find a way to upload without artifacts or invisible fills I will come back and mark this as solved.

what file format does your mmo require?