How to return to Home screen after closing project

I’m running Sketchup Pro (Desktop) on a MacBookPro. When I first launch Sketchup, it shows a “Home” screen, with thumbnails of recent projects that I can open.

After I open/work on/save a project, then close the project, it doesn’t take me back to the Home screen as I would expect. I just have the main Sketchup menu at the top of the screen, and no Sketchup window is open. I’ve searched the menus but can’t find a way to get back to the Home screen.

How about Help> Welcome to SketchUp … ?

Oh, that is so counter-intuitive.

Thanks for that, Dave.

Not sure why opening the Welcome to SketchUp window isn’t intuitive. That’s what the “home” screen is called. It even says so at the top.

User’s don’t normally think to go to the “Help” menu to navigate to a specific screen in the app. I’m an app/web developer, and I feel it’s a bad user experience to not show any screen when you close the current project. The default behavior should be to go back to the same screen where you opened the project that was just closed. THAT’S intuitive.

I always have the Home Screen turned off. It’s a nuisance. You can use the File Menu to find your recent files at the bottom of the menu. It’s really quite a bit better.

1 Like