How do you modify iso model dimensions without changing lumber dimensions

Hi, I’m new to SketchUp, I’m trying to modify the width of a iso drawing I made of a timber framed outdoor structure. I can’t seem to move items in without things getting distorted or changing the scale which then changes the size of the timbers.
How do I modify building width, which would then reduce roof framing dimensions, maintain pitch & timber size dimensions?
thank you so much!

Can you post an example of your SketchUp model here (the saved .skp file)? If it isn’t over about 5MB, drag and drop it into your post using File Explorer. If it is larger, upload it to a file sharing service, and post a link in your reply.

SketchUp is intended as a 3D surface modeller, not a 2D ISO drawing program. But you can create an ISO view from your 3D model, if it is drawn properly.

It sounds as though you may not have been using components or groups - so all your geometry may be interconnected and ‘sticking together’, so that if you move one thing, it drags others with it.

See learn.sketchup.com Sketchup Fundamentals videos, to get started on the right track, if you haven’t already watched them.

thank you John for responding. I’ll try to bring in model to get further assistance. I did save numerous parts in groups but I’m getting items sticking together.
Louie

foundation model.skp (263.1 KB)

John what I’m trying to accomplish is reduce structure width to 21’ or 1 foot narrower.

You need to make any part you draw into a component (my preference) or group as soon as you have drawn it.

And use Tags (called Layers in earlier versions of SketchUp) ONLY to control visibility of components, groups or dimensions.

ALWAYS, ALWAYS draw your geometry on the Untagged tag, or Layer0 in earlier versions. Leave the little pencil icon which shows the Default layer on Untagged or Layer0 ALL THE TIME.