How do I draw a line a particular distance from a point (not an offset)?

Hello, I’m new to SketchUp, but not AutoCAD. Perhaps I just don’t know the right lingo, because I can’t find anything in the community or help topics…
I’m drawing a floorplan. I’d like to draw a vertical line that starts 15’ from a corner. I don’t want to offset the line that makes the corner–the new line will be shorter. I see the inference tag that says "from point"when I hover over the corner and move the direction toward where I want to start the line. What do I do from there? I haven’t used it in a while, but in AutoCAD, I would type @15’ and that would be the start point of the new line.
Thank you!

Fastes way: draw a temporary line and delete it afterwards.

Hey there, I’m about a (heavy duty) month into Sketch Up also, after 10+ years in AutoCad. I’m surprised too, that there is not a command that approximates the SNAP FROM feature in ACAD. For anyone not familiar, it lets you start a line, say, two inches along one that’s already established, or end a line a foot from the point or line you are approaching. You can set a circle center three inches along the x axis from a given object, etc. While this can be done with guide lines or guide points or construction lines to be erased after, it is much more time-consuming and clunky. With SNAP FROM, it’s start a line, click SNAP FROM, click the point you’re referencing, type the distance, return. In a typical drawing, I use it hundreds of times.
Is this the kind of thing that would be ruby-scripted? It seems there are some very clever work-around extensions available, like mirror, which lets you mirror an object or objects off of a mirror line or point of your choosing (you can do this in acad natively).