Help with Terrain and landscaping

Hi Guys,

*Update - Add detail tool may be able to help but it is leaving areas where it refuses to add further detail what would cause this have tried turning on hidden geometry etc.

I am a track designer/builder in NZ over the space of a couple weeks I’ve taught myself the basics of Sketchup. Currently I am struggling with some of the shapes involved in what I do creating berms that look a bit nicer etc. Most of the issues I am facing have to do with the fact that I am either working with the land or excavating and it would seem Sketchup always wants there to be a flat surface to build on the way you would build a house.

I have created a small loop trail on top of Terrain that I have set a geo location to and then given volume. I have tried extruding the section through the terrain intersect edges and then delete but it doesn’t seem to work for what I am trying to achieve.

Essentially they are two curved surfaces that go below ground level and back up to ground level. I have also tried using the smooth tool to manipulate the area around them but it doesn’t seem to be accurate enough so I end up with a hollow around the shapes that I want exposed.

I also somehow keep managing to make the Pro app crash I’m running a surface pro 7 this should have enough grunt so I am wondering if I am doing something wrong with the way I am modelling things potentially?

Any help or useful tips appreciated I can see this is a very powerful tool to be using and that once I understand it better it will help me greatly with material quantities etc as well.

It would help if you showed us some images of what you are trying to do and attach an example model so we can see what you are working with.

By crash do you actually mean it shuts down and bug splats or do you just mean it seems to freeze and says ‘Not Responding’?