Help with incomplete faces

advice

I have downloaded a model for a simple swivel caster with brake. It has to be this particular part number, but the model is completely infested with incomplete faces, stray edges, etc with 184,732 entities! It looks like ■■■■ and it bogs down the other projects I need to use it in. I am a novice, but I have tried and tried to clean it up, but nothing works. Even trying to run solid inspector 2 just winds up crashing the session. At first, I scaled up 10x to make it easier for solid inspector to clean up the geometry, but it only helped so much. I’ve used Cleanup 3 to help some, but it’s not enough. I’d really like to just make a shell of it. I don’t care about the internal geometry. I just need to use this model with accurate outside dimensions. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Any chance that you might upload the SKP file or give us the 3D Warehouse link to it? so we can take a look? If you want help, make it possible for us to help you.

Here’s a link to the .skp
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B23eeRhyuKXPTFBLVDctZTFENUE/view?usp=sharing

and a screenshot or two

That’s an awful, poorly drawn model. It could be repaired but it’ll take some time. Exactly what details do you need from the caster that require you to use this exact model? If I were drawing a project that used this model of caster, I’d rather draw it myself than take the time to fix this one. I’d also limit the details and keep the file size down. After all, do you really need the brake assembly in there? Or the bearings?

If you aren’t in a rush I could probably make a caster model you can use.