Fixing Missing Faces

Hello,
How do i fix the ‘hole’ in the face of the attached model?
Sorry about having to ZIP it - model was larger than the upload limit.

Bathroom_Vanity_2018027.zip (1.9 MB)

You have a problem with your layers. Parts of that component are on another layer so you can’t fill in the face. Explode the component and you will find it works but the geometry ends up on mixed layers.
You need to look at how layers work in SU.
https://help.sketchup.com/en/article/3000122

1 Like

Thanks Box,
I admit I am a noob, but I’m still not seeing a way to fix the hole. I do have layers in my model, but may not be using them as intended. Could I get just a little more in the way of a tutorial on how to fix the holes (short of redrawing the component)?
Thanks,
Oppy

I don’t know how you went about drawing this component but you’ve managed to introduce some bad geometry that is preventing you from having a long continuous face like you should.

You’ll need to get rid of that and redraw at least that part of the component.

Here’s how I fixed it. But no doubt there are more layer problems in the rest of the model.Comp

Box,
Thanks for the tutorial! Very helpful.
Oppy

There’s enough wrong with the geometry in that component that it’s probably easier to start over than to attempt to fix it. A key part of the problem is that your component isn’t exactly square in cross section like it should be. The angles aren’t exactly 90°.

I started out trying to fix your component but it was taking longer than needed. I redrew starting from a square end section and redrew the component. Much easier and faster.

I agree with both @Box and @DaveR.