Failed to Open Document... can someone open it for me?

I am an instructor and one of my students has a file she cannot open… nor can I. We get the error “Failed to Open Document”. I understand it is probably due to the file being bloated and I can handle reducing its size… if I can open it. I already asked for the back up file but she doesn’t have it. Can someone help me with opening this file?

Generally it requires @colin to work his magic. Hopefully he’ll have time to look in soon.

Downloaded and tried to open it in SU 2021 on Mac Monterey.

No joy - “File not found or invalid” was the message.

I am trying to open the file, but it hasn’t opened yet, after 7 hours. I will leave my computer continuing to trying opening the file overnight.

It’s up to 20 hours of trying to open the file. I am logging a bug report for the developers to take a look.

1 Like

Hello, I am an architectural engineer and faced a problem opening my work file, it seems " failed to open document " When you open the file, you have already saved the file several times, I understand it is probably due to the file being bloated and I can handle reducing its size… if I can open it.
Can someone help me with opening this file? necessary Help me please.
thank you…

This isn’t the same issue as the other folks had. Your file will open.

Bloat? I’ll say!

Fixed incorrect tag usage…
Screenshot - 12_7_2021 , 3_45_12 PM

Purged unused.
Screenshot - 12_7_2021 , 3_46_07 PM

There’s still a lot of excess geometry in the remaining entourage but maybe you can open it. I would suggest that you go through and simplify it further. You could reduce some of the geometry by using a texture for the floors instead of all that geometry. And you could greatly improve things like the bathtub. No need for over 32,000 entities in that component. Twice as many in a towel.

Other furniture and fixtures could use the same sort of reductions.

1 Like