Extra lines when using the follow me tool

I have been creating 3D models of water towers for about 10 years with no issues.
I’ve always taken the height and width of the water tower and made a rectangle with the exact height and half the width.
I’d import an image from the blue print of half the tank.
I would then outline the image, remove all of the lines that don’t pertain to the tank, create a circle at the base of the water tower outline, and then use the follow me to extrude the image.
It’s worked perfectly for 10 years, but now all of a sudden it’s throwing in a ton of extra lines wrapping around the tank that aren’t supposed to be there.
This has only started happening the past few days.
When I trace the outline, there are only 3 lines for the ball section; two arcs and a straight line.
Does anyone have any idea why these extra horizontal lines are showing up?
I understand the imagine is still showing the blueprint through on the exterior of the model, that always goes away once I start designing the colors scheme and logos.
I have redone this model 30 times and they keep showing up.
Help!

Right before performing the follow me…check to see that the arc at the top of the water tower ball is still an arc. (Not reduced to segments)

Can you upload the model itself, to add to the images you have already uploaded?

It might be easier to work out what is going on from examining the model, not just from the images.

Are you still using SU 2019 as shown in your profile, on Catalina? Or has something changed recently in either the version of SU, or an update to your OS?

Sorry, I guess I need to update my profile.
I’m running Skethcup Pro 22 on an M1 Mac with Monterey.
I will upload the model in the morning when I’m at the office.
Thanks for the response.

Why are you using the imported image as a texture on the extruded water tower?