[Extension] KG-dev CADoptimus - Time Tracker - Track Time and Metrics while modelling

Hi,

I love data, especially derived data that gives you insight in a specific activity. As a coder I enjoy watching the charts on github that gives me metrics on my coding activity. Examples are activity graphs that show you how active you were on a specific calendar day:

(https://help.github.com/assets/images/help/profile/contributions_graph.png)

Other charts give you insight in how your code has grown or shrunken and who worked on the code:

(https://github-images.s3.amazonaws.com/enterprise/2.13/assets/images/help/graphs/repo_contributors_specific_graph.png)

This got me thinking to project this kind of insight on modelling activities and I started a new Extension: Time Tracker. It is not even close to being released, but I was willing to share with you this idea and hopefully learn what kind of metrics are imported for you, as a designer. Currently I am able to track “activity”: open, save, do, undo and redo. With that, I can also track for each activity some metrics like various model size metrics, the name of the logged in user, the pc, …

An image showing a very early development containing a total tracked time as well as a daily activity heatmap

I was wondering if anyone was interested in tracking time and metrics, and if so, which metrics?

1 Like

On my old job it would have been useful to tell how many hours I worked on a particular project during a week. We needed this for invoicing. Each project would have its own directory - which could be used to automatically identify projects.
Then within each project it could be useful to see how much time was spent on each model.

1 Like

I see this could even be a separate app, running outside of sketchup, using the sdk to crawl data out of all .skp’ies on your system, and even pushing it eventually to your time tracking tool. I for example use toggl.