Exporting to DXF for plastic fabricators

Hi there,

I’m an artist creating models to be sent to fabricators in DXF format, however they have told me my files will not open properly. I’m not sure what the issue is as I simply follow the export prompts. Is there a specific method to go about exporting so they can view the file in other CAD programs? See the image of my file they received, any advice or tips welcome :slight_smile:

Can you outline the steps you are taking to export a .DXF? Are you using export 2D or export 3D? You want to be exporting .DXF in 3d. Also include a copy of your .skp file uploaded here so we can take a look.

Hey, I’ve been going Export → 3D graphic → DXF for AutoCAD Release 14 with all boxes ticked.

vesselAPRIL.skp (338.9 KB)

I’ll check out the file.

Meanwhile, make sure the camera is set to parallel projection, and set standard view to top then export 3D .dxf with only the edges option ticked.

Is this for cutting on a CNC router, are they making gcode tool paths from this file?

I see this is a 3D object, so what kind of manufacturing are they going to use to build this? The current file has no faces it is just a collection of lines in space. feels like not enough information to manufacture from.

It’s got some odd dimensions as well.

Thanks for checking it. I’ll follow your prompts and see if that makes a difference. It’s for a perspex fabricator so the object will be clear, hence the simple lines and the dimensions are exact as the vessel will be bulging outward. Not sure about gcode.

If you have any further advice don’t hesitate to let me know.

The advice about setting the camera and view are for exporting 2D .dxf files (using 3D exporter) for use in a 2D manufacturing process like CNC routing or plasma or water jet cutting or laser, I don’t think it’s applicable in your case. You are trying to output a 3D model to the manufacturer, and these are the correct dimensions that I posted? They are very specific and small.