Cutting out an imported dxf shape from a componant

Im new to sketchup btw
Hi here is what i have so far:
I have made 2 components 5mm plate and have them assembled in my model

I also have a copy of each of those components laid out in a flat axis to allow me to work on them easier later (with the intention that the changes i make to them will automatically occur in the assembled ones)

my idea is to create complex shapes in another CAD system (as its easier) and import the DXF’s into SU, and that i can do fine.

The problem:
I want to take those complex shapes and lay it on the surface of the flat components and then use them like a cookie cutter effect to produce that shape as a cut outs in the 5mm plate components. These plate profiles and cut out detail within them can then be sent to the laser cutter to be cut out of 5mm plate mild steel.

I can fumble my way through cutting them out using the subtract first solid from the second, however this does not replicate in the assembled version grrr.

So the overall idea is that the assembly stays the same until i change the cutout detail and i see what the whole assembly looks like.

Woulds someone kindly advise on if this achievable?

Since the Solid Tools operate on the outside of a component, not on its definition, boolean operations do not propagate to other instances of the component. To affect Instance B by operating on Instance A, you must perform the operation within the context of Instance A, meaning you can’t use the Solid Tools. So enter the context of Instance A and cut it out using the Intersect command.

-Gully

Thanks Gully, so if i understand you correct i have to get that profile onto the same context as the plate i wish fo cut it out of yes?