Cutting a Shape into an Existing Group

I have the base to a wire spool that I am trying to cut a channel out of for a semi-rounded center post. I have made the center post and the base in Sketchup (albeit painstakingly), but have hit a wall trying to cut out the outline (as seen by the template) so the center post may sit in the base about 3/8". Does anyone have any advice on how to accomplish this?

!

I started using Sketchup about two weeks ago, so I am still learning its inner workings. I have made a couple sketches already, but none with extensive circle work like this.

Why not share the Sketchup model itself, not just an image? If the file is not too big*, use the 8th button from the left, above where you post, to upload the .skp file to your post here.

What are the horizontal lines within the circle in the image?

What diameter and thickness is the base? What size are the short and long curved sides of the spindle?

Just looking at the image, you ought to be able to push-pull the profile of the spindle 3/8" into the base (one side at a time) to create the recess. You may need to adjust the size slightly to allow clearance for the spindle to be a push fit, or even a drive fit, into the base.

Without that adjustment, something like this? I’ve guessed the sizes - wheel radius 5", spindle sides 1 1/4" and 1 1/2", each a rectangle 1/8" thick plus an arc with 1/8" bulge.

Wire reel.skp (59.8 KB)

*Used to be 3Mb, may be larger now? If you get a message that the file is too big when you try this method, upload it to Dropbox, OneDrive, or a similar file sharing service and post a link to it instead of the file itself.

Thank you for taking the time to make one up yourself, John! It’s pretty close to what I’m looking for.