Complicated model - how to approach?

I apologize if I posted this in the wrong place.

I’m pretty new to 3D modelling, and recently I’ve been assigned a project for work that is unlike anything I’ve ever done, and I have no idea how to approach it. It’s a sculpture that my company will build, and it will be 30 feet tall and made of perforated aluminum sheets attached to an internal pole and frame. The artist has given me a 5 foot tall prototype made of welded metal. It’s sort of a cubist-looking thing, and every tack I try to take just leads to more headache.

Does anyone have any advice or experience with anything like this? I’m sort of freaking out, as I’ve got a rather brutal deadline. I’ve attached a photo.

My apologies for my first post being a “help me” post, I just don’t know where to turn for this sort of thing.

Probably best to scan it.

There are some apps for phone/tablet that are passable but you can get hold of a hand held laser scanner anywhere from £100 to (very expensive!).

I used to have a David Laserscanner http://www.david-3d.com/en/support/downloads

If you need a good sense of accuracy it’s really the only way, we do the same thing in work. It’s what they do to get the clay models into CATIA

1/4 size

Depending on how tight the deadline is, try out a few of the apps first, if they are not free they are cheap. Then if possible see if you can rent a scanner from somebody or maybe get some help. If you have a bit longer and you think you may need one again,maybe look at buying one or if you are inventive make your own (see instructions on you tube).

That makes sense. I’ll definitely have it scanned. Thank you so much for the reply!

Scanning would be best…but if you really had to go manual, I would get a bunch of angles on this and use photomatch. It might be helpful to add a number of reference markers (sticks, horizontal and vertical) plus a few key measurements…good luck.