Can't see model, zoom extents doesn't show me anything, select all

Hi, total noobie user here with a super basic model. I did something (panned with my trackpad?) and now I can’t see model and zoom extents doesn’t show me anything, not even the axes. When I “select all” via a rectangle from right to left or control-A, it says I selected 42 components, but I can’t see them.

Here is the file:

Thank you for any help.

Here it is fixed. Camera was upside down.

Usually when Zoom Extents doesn’t seem to work it’s because there’s something located at a huge distance from the rest of the model. I’m not seeing that in your model, though.

Miter station work bench fixed.skp (259.2 KB)

I do see that you’ve hidden the geometry inside of the Base component. In order to make that visible again you’ll need to open the component for editing first.

Whoa, that was fast! Thank you!

This has happened before, but I quickly close it and reopen it (or undo a few times) and everything reappears. This time I was stubborn and tried to find it myself. Care to share how you fixed it so I can try next time?

I just hit Ctrl+A to select everything in the model and then used a keyboard shortcut for Zoom Selected. I believe that would be Command-A on Mac.

1 Like

Same here. And yes it was upsidedown.

And a little more digging reveals two instances of that Base component with the hidden geometry.

Ugh, I feel stupid. You guys make it sound so easy. Yes, I was in the middle of modifying that base component when this happened. Thank you!

21 years of using SketchUp and seeing lots of models from others helps.

Your model is puzzling in its construction. There are overlapping instances of the drawers. I moved them out to the side. And the other drawers and ad other stuff including the scale figure are duplicated. I’d guess you imported that bit shown selected?

Are you intending to create plans for this bench?