Cannot push/pull at a specific point

Hi all. On the attached file, there are rectangles 2 thirds the way up my posts. I cannot push/pull these rectangles, or other rectangles drawn at that spot on the posts. Why not? Rectangles drawn elsewhere on the posts are push/pullable. Also, when zooming in, these rectangles and the guidelines that bound them disappear… Could be something simple, i’m new to SU
thanks!

Your attachment did not upload, so I’ll have to take a guess. Try the upload again and we’ll take a better informed look.

Your report about vanishing when you zoom suggests that the guidelines and rectangle are ever so slightly off the face of the post and/or also slightly askew from the face. It takes only a very tiny amount of misalignment to defeat pushpull.

oops… hopefully attached now

dore.skp (59.7 KB)

The rectangles are drawn outside of the groups that the post geometry is in. You need to either explode the groups, or open the group (double-click) and draw the rectangles inside.

You have a few problems in the model.

The posts are indeed very slightly misaligned in the red direction. When you drew the guidelines from the one corner, this caused them to pass just below the surface. Likewise, the rectangles are just below the surface. But only very very slightly. As a result, at some zoom levels and view directions the guides and rectangles “bleed” through and become visible, while at other zooms and orientations they don’t. This is a known behavior of the OpenGL display library used by SketchUp when things would end up within a pixel of each other in depth on the display at some zooms.